Clayton is under the Borough form of government. The governing body consists of an elected Mayor and six councilpersons.  The Mayor is elected for a 4-year term. Council terms are 3 years. These terms are staggered where two council seats elected each year. The council members vote on the resolutions and ordinances that establish Borough code. The Mayor may only voteIMG_3184 in a tie.

The Mayor and council follow established by-laws in conducting Borough business. Council meetings are held on the second and fourth Thursdays of the month from September through May, and on the first Thursday of the month in the summer months (June through August). The meetings on the second Thursdays are Regular council meetings which begin at 7:00 PM in the courtroom. The meetings on the fourth Thursdays are Worksession (council) meetings which begin at 6:30 PM.

There are also occasional Special Council meetings to address time sensitive items. Notices of these meetings are published in the Gloucester County Times, as is the normal schedule of council meetings. The Municipal Clerk publishes the schedule of meetings at the beginning of each year.