The History of the Borough of Clayton
The land, which has become the Community of Clayton is rich in history. Shortly before the American Revolution, Jacob Fisler purchased a tract of land containing 2,800 acres in the area of the Clayton cemetery. He and his son, Leonard, jointly purchased 3,755 acres extending from the Clayton cemetery to Aura. In the year 1850, the locality gradually took on the name Fislertown. In the year 1850 Fislertown was a crossroads with five dwellings. Jacob Fisler and Benjamin Beckett started the first glass factory at this time. The impact of the glass factory greatly increased the population. On June 23, 1852 a post office was established as Fislerville. In 1867, the name of Clayton was adopted by a legislative act. The post office officially changed its name on July 22, 1867. At this time Clayton contained a population of 1,500. At a special election in May of 1887, the electorate voted to incorporate and become a Borough, and in June, elected their first Mayor. The population increased through the years with the 2000 census recording 7,139 people.
We are a proud community and boast many fine volunteer organizations. We take great pride in our fine police department, volunteer fire company and ambulance corps. Clayton is unique in all of Gloucester County. More than one-third of the small thriving Borough is comprised of wildlife management acres, lakes and parks. Within its borders is Scotland Run Park, the largest of the County’s four parks. The 940-acre park offers swimming, boating and fishing. Clayton is convenient to Route 55, and although Route 47 runs through the center of town, it remains one of the best-kept secrets in South Jersey.
For more information about our Borough’s History
Please Visit Clayton Historical Museum Hours are as follows:
All Saturdays from 1pm – 3pm.
All Wednesdays from 3pm – 5pm.
The 3rd Thursdays of each month from 7pm – 8:30pm.